Search icon


03rd Mar 2019

A Snow-Ice Warning Has Officially Been Issued For Dublin And 21 Other Counties

James Fenton

This is not what we expected to see after the springlike conditions earlier in the week.

Met Éireann has this morning issued a status yellow snow-ice warning for 22 counties, namely the whole of Leinster and Munster as well as Cavan, Monaghan, Galway and Roscommon.  It reads ‘heavy rain will turn to sleet and snow today. Much of the snow will be above 300 metres with just a local dusting of snow at lower levels. Wet and slushy roads are likely to become icy in places overnight as temperatures drop below freezing.’

The warning is valid from 2pm today until 8am on Monday morning so take care if you’re out and about. More information can be found here.

READ NEXT: A One-Way Traffic System Could Be Coming To Rathmines If New Plans Go Ahead