Search icon


10th Aug 2017

A UK Firm Will Take Over 24 Dublin Bus Routes – From Blackrock To Ballymun

Alana Laverty

Private UK firm Go-Ahead has won the contract to operate 10% of bus routes in Dublin. 

The National Transport Authority announced four years ago that 24 outer suburb bus routes were to be outsourced. 

Transdev (which runs the Luas) and a number of British firms applied to take charge of the selected routes, while Dublin Bus itself also applied to retain the routes. 

Dublin Bus will retain ownership of the fleet but Go-Ahead will run the selected suburban routes until from November 2018 until the contract expires in 2019. 

Here’s the full list of routes:

  • 220 Ballymun to Blanchardstown
  • 236 Blanchardstown Centre to Damastown
  • 239 Blanchardstown Centre to Liffey Valley Shopping Centre
  • 270 Blanchardstown Centre to Dunboyne
  • 17a Blanchardstown Centre to Kilbarrack
  • 76a Blanchardstown Centre to Tallaght 
  • 18 Palmerstown to Sandymount
  • 238 Tyrrelstown to Lady’s Well Road
  • 17 Rialto to Blackrock
  • 33a Swords to Balbriggan
  • 33b Swords to Portrane 
  • 75 The Square Tallaght to Dún Laoghaire
  • 76 Chapelizod to Tallaght 
  • 102 Sutton station to Dublin Airport
  • 04 Clontarf Road to Santry 
  • 111 Loughlinstown Park to Dún Laoghaire
  • 45a Dún Laoghaire to Ballywaltrim
  • 59 Dún Laoghaire to Mackintosh Park
  • 63 Dún Laoghaire to Kilternan
  • 114 Ticknock to Blackrock Station
  • 161 Dundrum Luas Station to Rockbrook
  • 184 Bray Rail station to Newtownmountkennedy
  • 185 Bray Railstation to Enniskerry

READ NEXT: A Brand New Wowburger Secretly Opened In Dublin Over The Weekend