Close

Follow Lovin Dublin

Big News For Vegans And Vegetarians – You Can Now Drink Guinness

By niallharbison

December 20, 2016 at 12:10am

Share:

Guinness is the most famous beer in Ireland, but strict vegetarians and vegans have never been able to have a pint of the black stuff, because of the use of isinglass in the brewing process.

Isinglass is a product that's made from dried fish bladders and has always been essential to the removal of excess yeast from Guinness.

As their spokesman said,

Whilst isinglass is a very effective means of clarification, and has been used for many years, we expect to stop using it as the new filtration asset is introduced.

Vegan groups have been battling Guinness for some time, but we'd wager most people didn't even know about this issue. We've actually seem plenty of veggies drinking pints of the black stuff over the years, so it's probably a case of the less you know the better.

However, a new vegan friendly Guinness will be rolled out next year and should taste pretty much the same as always, given the discovery of synthetic products which will replace isinglass, so veggies can join the party too.

Watch one of the all time classic Guinness ads here

H/T The Times.

READ NEXT: This Girl's Fantastic Conor McGregor Halloween Costume And Impression Impressed The Notorious Himself

Share:

Join the Lovin Dublin Newsletter

* indicates required

Interests

Marketing Permissions

Please select all the ways you would like to hear from Lovin Media Group:

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.