Here's The Shortlist For The 2015 Choice Music Prize

HOW does such a tiny island produce so much gold every year?


Is it that time of year already? 


The Choice Music Prize shortlist has been announced, and – as per usual – it's just left us staring at the screen in wonder at how such a tiny island can produce so much absolute bloody GOLD in just 12 months.

We'll follow up shortly with a bit more on this – and a Spotify playlist to get you acquainted with the entries you may not have come across yet – but in the meantime, here's the list:

  • Girl Band - Holding Hands with Jamie (Rough Trade)
  • HamsandwicH - Stories From The Surface (Route 109A Records)
  • Gavin James - Bitter Pill (Warner Music Ireland)
  • Jape - This Chemical Sea (Faction Records)
  • Le Galaxie - Le Club (Universal Music Ireland)
  • Colm Mac Con Iomaire - And Now The Weather (Plateau)
  • Roisin Murphy – Hairless Toys (PIAS)
  • Soak – Before We Forgot How To Dream (Rough Trade)
  • Villagers – Darling Arithmetic (Domino)
  • Young Wonder – Birth (Feel Good Lost)

The winner (of the €10k prize) will be announced in Vicar Street on March 3, broadcast on Today FM as usual.

Lovely stuff.

Main pic: Girl Band

Written By

Aidan Coughlan