The Best Restaurant In Dublin Right Now - Super Miss Sue


If everybody who read this blog was a chef or worked in the food business I wouldn't need to write any words in this review. They'd just look at the pictures and know that I'd had a great meal in Super Miss Sue. Pictures tell you everything you need to know about food and as you flick through them here you'll notice fresh, exquisite and sublime food prepared to perfection.

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 05.26.16My granny and dad were in town so I wanted to take them somewhere special and after wracking my brains for a little while I came up with Super Miss Sue. We are seeing a change in eating habits around the world. Nobody really wants to be sitting in a high end restaurant where snooty waiters look down on you and some bastard is hovering around every two minutes crumbing your table down. People still want super fine dining but they want it in a stripped back environment without all the superfluous bullshit. Somewhere in the heart of France a bunch of waiter colleges, waistcoat makers and long white apron manufacturers are slowly going out of business and cursing their luck.

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 05.16.58I'm not one for beating around the bush and I'll come straight out with it...Super Miss Sue is the best restaurant in Dublin right now. I was going to say "fish restaurant" but the more I thought about it the more I came to the conclusion that I've not had a better meal in Dublin in the last two years. The food is outstanding but it is the whole package that makes this place unique. The Room. The big windows that let you people watch. The chip shop open to the public. The Campari decor. The Prosecco served from taps. The leather curtains. The unisex bathroom where you and 3 friends could have one hell of a party.

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 05.16.46What impresses me as much as the food are the staff. I'd probably describe them as an eclectic bunch of stylish hipsters but they are superb at their job and show that snootiness has no place in a top end restaurant. Jane the hostess glides around the room like a ballerina and makes everybody feel as if she was welcoming her into her own home. They all know the tricky menu inside out and are helpful with suggestions and accommodating tricky requests.

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 05.17.06Although there are a couple of meat options to keep carnivores happy this place is all about fish and healthy eating. Unlike their sister restaurant the Butchers grill where you walk out in a meat coma this is all about healthy clean eating. My tuna tartar was perfection and the freshness of the shiso (the ingredient I most want to see get trendy soon given it's insane flavour) blew my fucking mind. The stuffed corgette flower my granny had and the deep fried fish my dad had were also the perfect sized starters. Too often starters kill your mojo and leave you nearly full whereas these were light and had you licking the plate getting super pumped about the main course on the way.

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 05.17.23You can choose from a ton of fish main courses but the best way to eat here is ordering one of the four market fresh fish of the day. I went with turbot (the undisputed king of the ocean) and we also had monkfish and sea bream. I can already hear people giving out shite about the portion size (20 fucking euros for a little 150g piece of fish!!!) but this is a new way of eating. The whole meal for 3 people was 150 Euros which isn't especially cheap but given the quality of ingredients I thought that was super value. Team it up with a little side plate (we had roasted beets and carrots with goat's curd, chips and a seaweed salad) and this is a 25 Euro main course that will blow your mind. Like I said look at the photos and try not lick the screen. It takes balls to cook food this simple and rely on the ingredients and it won't be for everybody but this is my type of food. I wanted to run into the kitchen and high five all the chefs and shout "You nailed it mothafuckers".

I'd love to add some balance and share some bad points but I couldn't find any. The only thing I'd say is that the fish and chips in the chipper is a little over priced and if they brought it down they'd have a queue around the corner. Did I mention the chips are cooked in beef dripping? The good news is that the main part of the restaurant is still to come with a gin influenced 100 seater slotting in under the car park. I wanted to give this place a few months before reviewing it properly so as it could bed down and find it's feet because I knew it would be good. I didn't realise it would be this good but I can hand on heart say this is the best restaurant in Dublin right now. Personal opinion of course but this was bang on the fucking money for me. 10/10. Perfection.

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 05.17.32

More Photos

I didn't eat the following dishes but grabbed them from the SMS social media profiles to highlight some of the other great food they produce and the great quality of photos they take.

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 05.32.56

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 05.32.24

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 05.31.09

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 05.30.59

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 05.33.14

Read More in Brasserie