Follow Lovin Dublin

These 31 Dublin Suburbs Will Have Speed Limits Cut Down To 30km/h

By Darragh Berry

April 19, 2018 at 7:51pm


The Irish Times is reporting that plans to cut speed limits down to 30km/h in 31 Dublin suburbs has been approved. 

According to the publication, 12 more southside suburbs and 19 northside ones will have their speed limits cut.

The last change of this kind happened in 2011. 

They are being introduced on a phases basis and are due to begin at the start of May 2018. 

The limits would be extended into areas including:

Southside - Harold’s Cross, Rathmines, Portobello, Ranelagh and east Inchicore  

Northside - Coolock, Artane, Killester, Clontarf, west Cabra, North Wall and parts of Glasnevin, Finglas and Ballymun.

There will also be periodic reductions from 50km/h - 30km/h around schools located on eight major roads affecting: Long Mile Road, Slievebloom Park, Chapelizod Road, Howth Road, Griffith Avenue, Seamus Ennis Road, Terenure Road East and Clareville Road East.

Suburbs that remain outside the 30km/h zone are:

Southside - Terenure, Rathgar, Clonskeagh and Donnybrook on the southside; Ballyfermot, Bluebell, and Ashtown to the west of the city

Northside - Drumcondra, Whitehall, Donnycarney, Beaumont, Darndale, Northwood and the remainder of Glasnevin, Ballymun and Finglas.

READ NEXT: 10 Photos That Prove Dublin Is The Place To Be On A Sunny Day


Join the Lovin Dublin Newsletter

* indicates required


Marketing Permissions

Please select all the ways you would like to hear from Lovin Media Group:

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.