Search icon


20th Dec 2016

Glen Hansard, Sinead O’Connor, Mundy And More Have Created A New Album To Fight Homelessness


Some of Ireland’s top musicians have come together to create a fantastic album in order to raise funds to fight the country’s homelessness crisis, and it’s just gone on sale.

Among its contributors are Glen Hanard, The Chieftains, Sinead O’Connor, Mundy, The Saw Doctors, and The Waterboys, all doing brand new versions of classic Irish tunes.

Part of the One For Ireland campaign, the album was launched at last month’s ‘Rock Against Homelessness’ concert in the Olympia Theatre. The initiative has thus far raised €35,000, and aims to raise €1 million.

Here are the 16 tracks that feature on ‘Rising Against Homelessness’:

1. ‘The Patriot Game’ by Mundy and friends (Fergus O’Farrell, Donal Lunny, Keith Farrell, Sarah Lynch, and Glen Hanard)

2. ‘The Foggy Dew’ by The Chieftains with Sinead O’Connor

3. ‘God Be With You ‘ by Dolores O’Riordan 

4. ‘Wild Mountain Time’ by The Waterboys

5. ‘The Town I Loved So Well’ by Camille O’Sullivan

6. ‘The Auld Triangle’ by HomeTown

7. ‘The Night Visiting Song’ by August Wells

8. ‘Children of ’16’ by Declan O’Rourke

9. ‘Villains Remix’ by The Saw Doctors with Giles Packham

10. ‘Hairy Jaysus’ by Kila with Giles Packham

11. ‘Down By The Sally Gardens’ by Heathers

12. ‘Romantic Ireland Is Dead and Gone’ by The Walls

13. ‘The Galtee Mountain Bay’ by Pauline Scanlon.

14. ‘A Song for Ireland’ by Stephen Robinson

15. ‘Foggy Dew 2016’ by Lethal Dialect

16. ‘Amhrán na bhFiann’ by Meltybrains?

If you’d like to pick up a CD and enjoy these tracks the old-school way, you can find ‘Rising Against Homelessness’ in record shops and Starbucks outlets around the country for just €10. Or if you must have your music in digital form, you can also find it on iTunes.

READ NEXT: VIDEO: These First Generation Irish People Brilliantly Describe What Being Irish Is To Them