Follow Lovin Dublin

Two Of The Six Dublin Garda Stations That Closed Are To Reopen

By Darragh Berry

December 19, 2017 at 4:59pm


The Department of Justice confirmed that two of the six Garda stations that closed in Dublin since 2011 will reopen.

A final report was submitted by the Garda commissioner on Tuesday after a recommendation by Frances Fitzgerald - the then Tánaiste and Minister for Justice & Equality - in 2016 said that "given it's size, at least one garda station should be reopened in county Dublin (including Dublin city).

Current Minister for Justice and Equality, Charlie Flanagan TD, told the Government on Tuesday that the Garda Commissioner had decided to reopen Garda stations at Stepaside and Rush in Dublin as well as Leighlinbridge in Carlow, Donard in Wicklow, Ballinspittle in Cork and Bawnboy in Cavan.

Pictured below are the two garda stations: Rush and Stepaside.

Rush Station
Stepaside Garda Station

In 2013, 100 Garda stations closed throughout Ireland and since 2011, 139 garda stations have been closed across the country.

The full report by the Garda Commissioner can be found here

READ NEXT: Gardaí Carried Out Raids At Stalls In Dublin's Liberties This Morning


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get the best of your city straight to your inbox.

I'd like to receive news and exclusive offers from Lovin Dublin including competitions, products, commercial partners and activities. By submitting this form you agree to our T&Cs and our privacy policy